DIY Chalkboard Paint

In yesterday’s blog I mentioned that I had been a busy bee accomplishing little pinning projects.  Looking back at it, I think I went to Target 4 times and Kwik Trip once.  WOW! I must have just looked like a chicken with it’s head cut off.  I am sure the people at Target were wondering if I was stealing things on my trips in and out.  Nope, I am just a forgetful person and I tend to not write things down on lists (good think I live a mile away).  I really need to start making lists because you don’t want to see me at the grocery store.  I am always going from one end of the store to the other, never remembering what we REALLY need.  Anyways, all together I was able to successfully create 4 things new, which means…4 new blogs! 🙂 In the end, it was all worth it.  I now have a new Crock-Pot recipe, a new cupcake recipe, the cutest party decorations and a new DIY project.

Okay so I don’t know about you all, but I am in love with chalkboard paint.  I remember back when I was a sophomore in college and people were just starting to talk about using this on their walls.  My roommates and I had thought this would be a great idea to paint one of our walls with chalkboard paint so that when people came over they could sign our wall (I think our downstairs neighbors did this).  Well…..that never happened because the price for a pint of that paint was absolutely ridiculous!  Today, the price is a little better but to paint an entire child’s wall with chalkboard paint would cost a small fortune.  If you just search chalkboard paint on Pinterest you are flooded with the absolute cutest ideas for DIY projects from tables to headboards.  So back to my shopping dilemma.  I had originally seen this post on Pinterest and knew actually the cabinet I would “make-over” in order to achieve the look below.

 

I liked this idea! I know what some of you might be thinking….”why can’t you just write it down on paper?”  Well that takes all the fun away from it.  I was all about doing this to the cabinet door of our pantry and so was my husband, only if I tape the edges first.

When I went to Home Depot to buy the chalkboard paint, it was $10.97 for a 30 oz. can.  They do offer the spray paint for $4.97 but I am not about to spray paint cabinet doors with the amount of inconsistency that can happen with spray paint.  I had almost forgot about the chalkboard cabinet Pin until I saw the “original pin” for today’s blog.  (Reason number 1 on why I love Pinterest, you can never really forget about an idea if you have it Pinned, even if you don’t need it for awhile.  Kind of the reason why I pin so many nursery pictures, I don’t WANT to forget the way something looks.)  So after seeing a tutorial on DIY chalkboard paint, I just had to give it a try.

Original Pin:

http://www.marthastewart.com/271574/custom-color-chalkboard-paint

 

The Process:

Start by finding non-sanded grout.  I was able to find it for cheap ($5.47) at Home Depot.  Make sure that it is white and not a tinted grout.

Start with flat-finish latex paint in any shade.  I found that acrylic paint works as well and had a variety of colors.  I would look around at painting supply stores to find the cheapest deal.  If you are working with a small space, buying acrylic paint at a craft store may be the cheapest route.  You can also find custom paint samples from Home Depot and these usually come in 8 oz. containers, which is 1 cup paint so it is already measured out for you.

 

For small areas, such as a door panel, mix 1 cup at a time.

1. Pour 1 cup of paint into a container (make sure to use a cheap/disposable one). Add 2 tablespoons of unsanded tile grout. Mix with a paint stirrer, carefully breaking up clumps.

2. Apply paint with a roller or a sponge paintbrush to a primed or painted surface. Work in small sections, going over the same spot several times to ensure full, even coverage. Let dry.

3. Smooth area with 150-grit sandpaper, and wipe off dust. (You may not even have to smooth the area if you were able to get all the clumps of grout out when stirring)

4. To condition (this is important): Rub the side of a piece of chalk over entire surface. Wipe away residue with a barely damp sponge.

 

The Result:

VIOLA!!!

 

 

Pinadvised:

I am so glad that I was able to try this pin out.  My next step with this project is to paint the message center inside of our cabinet door and I will be sure to let you know how that goes.  Cross your fingers that I don’t mess up.

 

Make sure go over the areas multiple times and pick a surface that is smooth.  I just found scrap wood in our basement and the surface wasn’t even or smoothed out.  So it took a little more erasing than normal to get the chalk off, especially the pink chalk.

I didn’t seem to have any problems with my mixture of grout and paint but reading Martha Stewart’s blog, people are mentioning that it got too thick.  I did see that one reader had used a mixture of water and grout with the paint to help thin the mixture up.  It sounds like most people have been successful with trying this combination out instead of buying the expensive pre-mixed, black paint.  Plus, this is a great project to have kids pick their own colors and on any size object you want them to be able to draw on.  Chalkboards are a thing of the past in most schools so bringing back this blast from the past will sure to have the kiddos entertained for awhile. (wow that sounded like an infomercial)

 

Happy Painting 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “DIY Chalkboard Paint

  1. Pingback: Happenings in The Walz House | pinadvised

Leave a Reply

