Lose 5 lbs. in 7 days! For real?

Over the past two months I have been trying to get back into top shape.  I have started to “try” and eat healthy as well as investing in the new workout video, Insanity (which I love and have seen great results).  So when I first saw this pin I figured it was too good to be true.  After looking at the ingredients listed for this drink it was clear the only weight that was going to be lost was water weight.  Dandelion Root, cranberry juice and lemon juice are all diuretics.  So how this drinks works is by increasing the amount of excretion from your body.  They do this by causing your kidneys to increase the amount of sodium placed in your urine, thus taking the extra water with it .  Hence, losing water weight.  The weight you lose is likely to come back but I figured it was worth a try and help take some bloating off, it is swimsuit season after all!

Original Pin:

The Process:

Mixed the following ingredients together:

  • 60 oz. (7 1/2 cups) distilled water- $.99 for 1 gal (x4)
  • 1 tbs. Sugar free cranberry juice (100% juice)- $3.48 (It is hard to find 100% juice with no sugar added.  You will have to go an organic store.)
  • 2 tbs. 100% lemon juice- $2.38
  • 1 Dandelion root tea bag- $3.49 (Target)

Drink this combination for 7 days.  Please note that I originally bought Diet Cranberry juice and didn’t realize it was not 100% juice, actually only 8% juice.

The Result:

I followed the above recipe for 7 days, worked out (only a few days), did not eat very healthy and drank a few glasses of alcohol but ended up losing about 5 pounds.  I prefer to drink water with slices of lemon in it and I found this is what the drink tasted like.  I actually will get cravings for this water now that I have finished the 7 days.  I also noticed that I enjoyed the taste better slightly warm than cold.

Pinadvice:

I would only recommend this for a short period of time, it is not something the more you drink the more you lose.  I would suggest weighing yourself at the same time everyday, as your weight tends to fluctuate during the day, as well as measuring your stomach prior to starting this drink.  

Happy Drinking 🙂

2 thoughts on “Lose 5 lbs. in 7 days! For real?

Leave a comment