Crock-pot Chicken

My husband is now back from a work trip back to Cali, which means I can now blog again.  Today’s blog is another yummy recipe!  There are so many of us that get in a routine of the same meals just placed on a loop.  After cooking for my husband for almost 3 years now, I noticed our weekly dinners turning into the same ole’, same ole’.  Actually, I should point out that I really didn’t notice until my husband “nicely” pointed this out.  I am more of a picky eater than my husband so what I make, I have become comfortable eating/making.  Those of you reading this and finding yourself in the same menu routine, try this recipe to bring some new yummy changes to your dinner table.  It doesn’t hurt that it is quick and doesn’t evolve standing over a stove in the middle of summer.

Original Pin:

http://shrinkingkitchen.com/slow-cooker-creamy-ranch-chicken/

The Process:

  1. Spray slow cooker with cooking spray (this will save you some serious scrubbing later).
  2. Place chicken in the bottom of the slow cooker and sprinkle evenly with salt, pepper, and 1/4 teaspoon paprika.
  3. Dump one packet of ranch dip mix over chicken, and then pour in 1/2 cup chicken broth.
  4. Turn on slow cooker and cook on high for 4 hours or low for 6-7 hours.
  5. Thirty minutes before serving, mix 1/3 cup half & half with 1 teaspoon of cornstarch. Pour into slow cooker and stir to mix. Sprinkle on 1/2 teaspoon oregano and 1 teaspoon parsley.
  6. Cube 3 ounces of reduced fat cream cheese and distribute evenly in the liquid in the slow cooker. Replace lid and cook for an additional 20-25 minutes.

I started to follow this recipe until I noticed that I had forgot to buy half and half for this recipe.  I ending up adding a cup of cream of chicken soup (98% fat free).  This not only makes the recipe healthier, but it gives it some extra taste.  I also didn’t have cornstarch but flour does the same trick of thickening up the sauce.  Your cook time can vary from the recipe above depending on how moist your want your chicken.  I added up cooking it on high for 5 hours and it was, super full apart, moist…YUM!

The Result:

Pinadvise:

My husband doesn’t prefer noodles, so I served this chicken with potatoes with a side of corn on the cob.  The only thing I would suggest is to reduce the amount of paprika if you don’t care for the full force flavor in every bite.  Overall, very happy with this new addition to our weekly dinner menu.

Happy Cooking 🙂

**Stay tuned this coming week for the results of another pin that I am trying** 

2 thoughts on “Crock-pot Chicken

  1. Hello! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I
    truly enjoy reading through your blog posts.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums
    that deal with the same subjects? Appreciate it!

    • Thanks for reading! I don’t follow many blogs, I just click around. When I find a good one I will be sure to post it here for you. You can actually find a lot of blogs by going to Pinterest and clicking on the pictures of peoples’ posts. Most of the pictures of DIY, crafts and recipes will take you to a blog of the person who originally posted it.

      I did find this one for recipes —> http://www.relativetaste.net/tag/main-dishes/

      Hope this helps and I will get to more recipes here soon!

Leave a Reply

